Search Your Electorate


Canberra ACT

Your electoral candidates

View your local candidates below.


Michael Simms

IMO Party


Catherine Smith - Candidate for Canberra

Catherine Smith

United Australia Party

House of Reps

Electorate Information

State/Territory:  Australian Capital Territory

Date Name & Boundary Gazetted: 13 July 2018

First Election This Name Was Used At: 1974

First Election This Boundary Was Used At: 2019 Federal Election

Name Derivation: A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.

Square Area:  312 Sq Km

Location Description: The Division of Canberra covers an area in central ACT consisting of the Districts of: Canberra Central, Kowen, Majura, part of Belconnen, part of Jerrabomberra, part of Molonglo Valley, part of Weston Creek, and part of Woden Valley.

Demographic Rating: Inner Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and consisting of well-established built-up suburbs.

Better together

We're better together

Find out how you can get involved and support your local community